Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 26th, 2010

I’d like to think that I’m being productive, but really I’m avoiding my philosophy paper that I took an incomplete on.

Dorthea Lasky: Awe
Tone Skrjanec (trans: Joshua Beckman): Sun on a Knee
Catherine Wagner: My New Job
Tom Kealey: The Creative Writing MFA Handbook

Awe was lovely, though I must admit I got lost at the end. The poems just didn’t hold me the way they did at the beginning.

Sun on a Knee is a tiny book (palm sized!) and also just lovely. Each poem is three lines and only a few words. I was particularly partial to “out of the corner of my eye / I watch the waves / undressing the beach.”

My New Job left me feeling the same as Awe. I loved the first 3/4s and then somewhere I got lost. But the middle section was the best, she was threw words around like spinart and it was fucked up and awesome.

So, the Handbook was only mostly read, but the parts I didn’t skim I read very carefully. I am now compiling a list of possible grad schools. Thanks AWP Guide!

Now, to push forward!

Read Full Post »